

Subject Performance Monitoring Unit Audit Programme 2009/10

Circulation All Road Controlling Authorities

All Regional Councils

ARTA

Department of Conservation Controller and Auditor General Local Government New Zealand

Circulated by Doug Miller – National Manager Performance Monitoring

Date of Issue 2 June 2009

Ref PFM-04-01-02

Purpose

To advise approved organisations of the Performance Monitoring Unit's annual programme of local authority, regional council and Department of Conservation procedural and technical reviews for the 2009/10 financial year.

Development of audit programmes

A procedural audit of each approved organisation is carried out every two to four years. Technical reviews are carried out on a four to six year cycle. Factors that determine the frequency include the size of the NZTA's financial contribution, the complexity of each organisation's programme, network condition (pavement and safety) and the outcome of previous audits.

Each approved organisation will be advised at least a month in advance of the audit commencing.

Enquiries

For further information on the audit programme, please contact Glenn McGregor at the NZTA National Office on 04 894 6179 or by email glenn.mcgregor@nzta.govt.nz

Attachment 1: Approved Organisations Procedural Audit and Technical Review Programmes

2009/10

Doug Miller

National Manager Performance Monitoring

orm in

Approved Organisations Procedural Audit Programme 2009/10

No.	Approved Organisation	Quarter Programmed for Visit	Last Visit
1.	Auckland RC	1 st	Sept 05
2.	Carterton DC	4th	Dec 06
3.	Central Hawkes Bay DC	1st	Aug 06
4.	Chatham Is DC	3rd	Dec 06
5.	Doc Manawatu/Wang	3rd	Aug 06
6.	Dunedin CC	3rd	Nov 07
7.	Environ. Waikato	1st	Oct 06
8.	Franklin DC	1st	Sep 06
9.	Gisborne DC	3rd	Oct 07
10.	Greater Wgtn RC	2nd	Aug 07
11.	Grey DC	3rd	Mar 07
12.	Hawkes Bay RC	2nd	Oct 06
13.	Kaipara DC	3rd	Aug 07
14.	Masterton DC	3rd	Jun 06
15.	Matamata Piako DC	2nd	Feb 07
16.	Northland RC	1st	Jun 06
17.	Otorohanga DC	1st	Apr 07
18.	Palmerston North CC	1st	Aug 06
19.	Southland DC	2nd	Apr 08
20.	Taupo DC	3rd	Mar 07
21.	Tauranga CC	1st	Jun 06
22.	Timaru DC	2nd	Sep 06
23.	Waimakariri DC	1st	Aug 06
24.	Waipa DC	4th	Nov 06
25.	Wanganui DC	4th	Aug 07
26.	Waitaki DC	3rd	Oct 06
27.	Wellington CC	3rd	Aug 07
28.	West Coast RC	3rd	Mar 07
29.	Western BoP DC	4th	Sep 06
30.	Whakatane DC	4th	Jun 06
31.	Whangarei DC	4th	May 08
32.	HNO (National)*	2nd	Mar 09
33.	HNO (Dunedin)*	2nd	Nov 06
34.	HNO (Auckland)*	2nd	Feb 07

^{*} Part of NZ Transport Agency

B906852 2

Approved Organisations Technical Review Programme 2009/10

No.	Approved Organisation	Quarter Programmed for Visit	Last Visit
1.	Central Otago DC	3 rd Otr	Jul-93
2.	Gisborne DC	2 nd Qtr	Aug-02
3.	HNO (Hawkes Bay)*	3 rd Qtr	-
4.	Kaipara DC	4 th Otr	Nov-04
5.	Otorohanga DC	4 th Otr	Jul-99
6.	Papakura DC	3 rd Qtr	Sep-03
7.	Porirua DC	2 nd Qtr	Jul-01
8.	Rodney DC	4 th Otr	Mar-04
9.	Rotorua DC	1 st Qtr	Jul-99
10.	Selwyn DC	3 rd Qtr	Nov-01
11.	South Wairarapa DC	1 st Qtr	Jul-94
12.	Stratford DC	4 th Otr	Jul-99
13.	Tasman DC	3 rd Qtr	Jul-98
14.	Wairoa DC	2 nd Qtr	Mar-05

^{*} Part of NZ Transport Agency

Approved Organisations RISA Review Programme 2009/10

The RISA (Road Infrastructure Safety Assessment) review programme is a supplement to the Technical Review programme. Based on international best practice guidelines, RISA reviews assess a sample of an Approved Organisation's rural road network to identify possible areas for safety improvement and assist Approved Organisations in identifying the most effective Minor Improvements projects.

No.	Approved Organisations	Quarter Programmed for Visit
1.	Central Otago DC	2 nd Qtr
2.	Gisborne DC	1 st Qtr
3.	HNO (Hawkes Bay)*	1 st Qtr
4.	Kaipara DC	2 nd Qtr
5.	Otorohanga DC	3 rd Qtr
6.	Rodney DC	3 rd Qtr
7.	Selwyn DC	1 st Qtr
8.	Tasman DC	2 nd Qtr

^{*} Part of NZ Transport Agency

Theme Audit Programme 2009/10

Theme Audit topics for 2009/10 are yet to determined.

B906852 3