Attachment 2 – Starting Points for Transitioning-in Changes to Council Funding Assistance Rates

Council	Starting point
Far North District Council (with no special purpose road expenditure)	58%
Kaipara District Council	62%
Northland Regional Council	54%
Whangarei District Council	55%
Auckland Council	53%
Auckland Transport	50%
Hamilton City Council	50%
Hauraki District Council	55%
Matamata-Piako District Council	50%
Otorohanga District Council	54%
South Waikato District Council	52%
Taupo District Council (with special purpose road expenditure removed)	49%
Thames-Coromandel District Council	45%
Waikato District Council	55%
Waikato Regional Council	52%
Waipa District Council	51%
Waitomo District Council	61%
Bay of Plenty Regional Council	51%
Kawerau District Council	65%
Opotiki District Council	52%
Rotorua District Council	50%

Council	Starting point
Tauranga City Council	46%
Western BoP District Council	48%
Whakatane District Council (with special purpose road expenditure	
removed)	52%
Gisborne District Council	60%
Central Hawkes Bay District Council	60%
Hastings District Council	54%
Hawkes Bay Regional Council	54%
Napier City Council	50%
Wairoa District Council (with special purpose road expenditure removed)	67%
New Plymouth District Council (with special purpose road expenditure removed)	53%
South Taranaki District Council	53%
Stratford District Council (with special purpose road expenditure removed)	54%
Taranaki Regional Council	52%
Horizons Manawatu	54%
Horowhenua District Council	49%
Manawatu District Council	55%
Palmerston North City Council	50%
Rangitikei District Council	61%
Ruapehu District Council (with special purpose road expenditure removed)	63%
Tararua District Council	61%
Wanganui District Council	65%

Council	Starting point
Carterton District Council	55%
Greater Wellington	53%
Hutt City Council	50%
Kapiti Coast District Council	46%
Masterton District Council	56%
Porirua City Council	47%
South Wairarapa District Council (with special purpose road expenditure	
removed)	51%
Upper Hutt City Council	50%
Wellington City Council	47%
Nelson City Council	46%
Marlborough District Council (with special purpose road expenditure	
removed)	49%
Tasman District Council (with special purpose road expenditure removed)	51%
Ashburton District Council	48%
Christchurch City Council	47%
Environment Canterbury	51%
Hurunui District Council (with special purpose road expenditure removed)	52%
Kaikoura District Council	46%
Mackenzie District Council	55%
Selwyn District Council	50%
Timaru District Council	56%
Waimakariri District Council	52%
Waimate District Council	53%

Council	Starting point
Buller District Council (with special purpose road expenditure removed)	60%
Grey District Council	63%
West Coast Regional Council	68%
Westland District Council (with special purpose road expenditure	
removed)	60%
Chatham Islands Council	91%
Central Otago District Council	52%
Clutha District Council (with special purpose road expenditure removed)	61%
Dunedin City Council	60%
Otago Regional Council	52%
Queenstown-Lakes District Council (with special purpose road expenditure	
removed)	49%
Waitaki District Council	59%
Environment Southland	65%
Gore District Council	57%
Invercargill City Council	61%
Southland District Council (with special purpose road expenditure	
removed)	55%

The 'starting point' that each district council's funding assistance rate will transition from is the average of:

- a. An 'actual' weighted average funding assistance rate for each council determined by working out what percentage of their spend on eligible land transport activities¹ over the 2009/10 2012/13 period has been on (1) maintenance, operations and renewals activities or (2) capital improvements and applying their usual 2014-15 funding assistance rates².
- b. An 'equalised' weighted funding assistance rate determined by applying each council's 2014-15 funding assistance rates to the overall split of improvement and maintenance, operations and renewal activities across all approved organisations during 2009-13.

The use of this combined average funding assistance rate moderates the impact of the very large improvement expenditures that a few organisations have experienced during 2009-13.

A similar approach has been applied to determining the 'starting points' for regional and unitary authorities, widened to include public transport and other relevant activities.

¹ Other than activities relating to special purpose roads, total mobility or emergency works.

² l.e. not any special bespoke rates