

EXTRACT FROM MINUTES

COUNCIL

MEETING HELD 21 APRIL 2022

MDC 22/1311 SPEED MANAGEMENT BYLAW AMENDMENT

Report of the General Manager – Infrastructure dated 8 April 2022 seeking a resolution to introduce new Permanent Speed Limits, new Variable Speed Limits and new Rural Intersection Activated Warning Signage at various locations in the Manawatū District. Council's Project Development Engineer - Roading gave a presentation sharing diagrams of the recommended changes, key statistics underpinning the recommended changes, and the results of the submission process undertaken. It was asked that the recommendations be taken separately.

RESOLVED

That the Council pursuant to Part Four of the Traffic Safety and Road Use Bylaw amends the following speed limits previously set at 100km/h (as per maps appended to the report):

- Roads forming approaches to Halcombe Village (60 km/h)
- Rural corridors:
 - Mt Stewart-Halcombe Road (80 km/h State Highway 3 to James Road with 60 km/h passing Mt Biggs School)
 - Mt Biggs Road (80 km/h, James Road to Halcombe Village)
 - James Road (60 km/h)
 - Fergusson Road (80 km/h)
 - Cemetery Road (80 km/h)
 - Lees Road (80 km/h)
 - Te Rakehou Road (80 km/h)
 - Sandon Road (80 km/h, from Lees Road / Te Rakehou Road approach, 60 km/h passing Mt Biggs School)
 - Managhs Road (80 km/h)
 - Lethbridge Road 80 km/h, with 60 km/h in proximity to Feilding Cemetery, Rail Crossing, Maewa and Sherrards Roads)
 - Maewa Road (60 km/h, unsealed road)
 - Sherrards Road (60 km/h, unsealed road)

Moved by: Councillor Shane Casey

Seconded by: Councillor Alison Short

CARRIED

Councillor Stuart Campbell recorded his vote against the motion.

RESOLVED

That the Council pursuant to Part Four of the Traffic Safety and Road Use Bylaw amends the following speed limits previously set at 50km/h (as per maps appended to the report):

- Roads forming Halcombe Village (combination of 40 km/h) and 60 km/h)
- Roads forming Sanson Village (40 km/h, excluding State Highway corridors)

Moved by: Councillor Shane Casey

Seconded by: Councillor Alison Short

CARRIED

Councillor Stuart Campbell recorded his vote against the motion.

RESOLVED

That the Council pursuant to Part Four of the Traffic Safety and Road Use Bylaw is amended to apply an overlying Variable Speed Limit on road(s) with a Permanent Speed Limit of 50 km/h (as per maps appended to the report). These variable speed limits are to be operational during school pick up and drop off times only, for a maximum of 35 minutes in the morning and 20 minutes in the afternoon:

- North Street (30km/h between Andrew/Derby and Kennedy Street intersections)
- North Street (30 km/h between Makino Stream and Marlborough Street
- Churcher Street (30 km/h between North Street and Virginia Crescent)
- East Street (30 km/h between State Highway 54 and Fairview Avenue)

Moved by: Councillor Shane Casey

Seconded by: Councillor Alison Short

CARRIED

RESOLVED

That the Council pursuant to Part Four of the Traffic Safety and Road Use Bylaw is amended to include an overlying Variable Speed Limit (activated when vehicles approach the intersection on side road(s) only) on road(s) with a Permanent Speed Limit of 100 km/h (as per maps appended to the report):

- No.1 Line Longburn (for a length of 360m, approximately 180m either side of Karere Road)
- Karere Road (length approximately 50m either side of No.1 Line Longburn)

Moved by: Councillor Shane Casey

Seconded by: Councillor Alison Short

CARRIED